Cairns Ukulele Festival 2013 Day 4-9 (I fell behind!)

I have been having way too much fun at this year’s ukefest and have fell behind on my updates! I’ll be sure to leave a ton of photos at the end of this post to make up for it! If you’re interested in all of the photos I have been taking, please frequent here:

My Cairns Ukefest 2013 photos!

If you’re interested in my personal experiences, keep reading! Since I last wrote, the other festival artists have been arriving. Sarah Maisel, Ryan Imamura, Bryan Tolentino, Halehaku Seabury, Thom Jackson as well as the KoAloha crew (Alan Tagama, Alan and Paul Okami) have been hanging out and sharing a lot of music.

I have also been seeing many familiar faces from those who live in Cairns and those who travel many miles each year to be here. It feels like a big family reunion! I must say, the artist line up this year is incredible… I feel so honored to be a part of this crew.

Ryan has taken everyone by surprise and has come out strong with his take on pop music and high energy performances. Keep an eye out on this guy, he is only going to get better and better. Bryan and Hale have been so inspiring to watch. When they perform, I am reminded why music was so important in my life growing up in Hawai’i. They remind me of why I wanted to play music, the sharing, the raw joy of creating something spontaneous. I can’t wait for their full set on Sunday night.

Sarah I believe has become even more confident and comfortable wow-ing a mass of people with both her personality and music. She is such a fun person to even just be around. I am so happy that she made it down for this festival. She’s been such a pleasure to work with the past few months and am so proud of her success.

Thom Jackson has still been keeping up with his great performance skill and even the KoAloha gang is spreading the aloha not only with their great uke building workshop but singing and doing hula too! Such a fun time to be had by all!

I need to make a special shout out to the Montgomery Brothers… What an incredible duo of musicians. Hopefully I’ll have some videos to post after my concert with them tomorrow night. They are so versatile and add so much to the many performers they are helping to back up. As I mentioned in an earlier post, the festival events are getting better and more efficient. We had a great time at Green Island (I didn’t get extremely sea sick this year!!!) and the mystery tour bus today. I can’t wait to see what Gaby (Cairns Ukefest director) thinks of next! I could go on and on, but I need to catch up on sleep with some early workshops tomorrow morning, the world record attempt in the afternoon and my performance at Union Jack at night. Will try and update soon. Weather is beautiful, the people are lovely as ever, music is flowing, and laughs are to be had. This is Cairns. IMG_2508 IMG_2515 IMG_3194 IMG_3195 IMG_3216 IMG_3226 IMG_3334 IMG_3346 IMG_3359 IMG_3360 IMG_3362 IMG_3363 IMG_3370 IMG_3382 IMG_3431 IMG_3444 IMG_3469 IMG_3028 IMG_3065 IMG_3075 IMG_3130 IMG_3148 IMG_3169 IMG_3172 IMG_3173 IMG_3175 IMG_3182 IMG_3186 IMG_3188 IMG_3191 IMG_2504 IMG_2500 IMG_2503 IMG_2954 IMG_2968 IMG_2971 IMG_2972 IMG_2992 IMG_2994 IMG_2995 IMG_2483 IMG_2484 IMG_2837 IMG_2847 IMG_2850 IMG_2866 IMG_2871 IMG_2878 IMG_2882

Leave a Reply

